Pregnancy Loss Blog Carnival + Noah’s Trees

As I noted previously, Fertility Flower is having a Pregnancy Loss Week Blog Carnival . Please join in at Fertility Flower for the week of August 23-27, 2010 where we will be featuring articles, posts and artwork about pregnancy loss.

For the blog carnival I submitted this post about Noah’s box/ceremony for the topic of “memorializing lost children.

I also submitted my post about pregnancy trauma for the subject of subsequent pregnancies.

Additionally, I wanted to add a couple of pictures to this new post, also on the subject of memorials. This one is of Noah’s plaque actually on the tree next to where he is buried:

I guess it is all smudgy looking because of how I put my hand on it? I don’t see those marks usually in real life, but the camera caught them. This one is further away so that is shows both the plaque and the rock under which he is buried:

This is a picture of the tulip tree we planted during the mizuko kuyo ceremony we had on the six month anniversary of Noah’s birth/burial. This one is in our back yard (the cedar tree with the plaque is in our front yard):

The tree is actually quite a bit bigger now than in the picture. I hadn’t really realized how much it has grown until I was writing this post!

And, finally, here is a picture of the two little “jizo” (Buddhist guardian of “water babies”—babies lost before birth) rocks that my mom painted for me and gave me during the ceremony:

7 responses to “Pregnancy Loss Blog Carnival + Noah’s Trees

  1. I really appreciate that you submitted these, Molly. Both of them were wonderful (I know that’s not the right word when talking about something like this but I don’t know how else to describe it). I think women will draw a lot of strength from reading these for the blog carnival. Thank you, again.

  2. It was heartwarming to read your blog. Thank you. I have just suffered a miscarriage, so thoughts are very much on what to do with the remains and remembrance.

  3. I’m sorry about your baby. Best wishes on your journey–it is a LONG one, but there are some unexpected gifts hidden along the way.

  4. I am sad to know that you’ve lost your baby. Your post is inspiring and I hope I can have a healthy pregnancy this time.

    Early Pregnancy Symptoms

  5. You are so generous to share this with us. Noah is acknowledged, cherished, respected and celebrated. This is so right and natural. It is a proud statement that supports any of us in our decisions on how to deal with the end of a baby’s life. I think it is probably really healing for the siblings of an angel baby to see this loving celebration of a lost life. I take comfort from the bravery and love it shows. Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Tribute | Footprints on My Heart

Leave a Reply

