Noah’s Box/Ceremony

This post was updated for inclusion in the Pregnancy Loss Week Blog Carnival .  Please join us at Fertility Flower for the week of August 23-27, 2010 where we will be featuring articles, posts and artwork about pregnancy loss.

I wanted to share some pictures of the box we buried Noah in and write a little bit about the ceremony we had for him the day he was born/buried. I also took a picture of him in it, but I do not feel like sharing that picture publicly. The box is a shaker oval carrier that my dad made out of walnut from a fallen tree on their property (my birthplace). My mom crocheted a little liner for the box and then a little coverlet for the baby. Mark added a sprig of lavender that he cut from our lavender plants (see significance of the lavender here). My dad added a wooden bead that he carved from a piece of a log that was once removed from their house (they live in a restored log cabin). He split the bead into two and gave me half to keep and put half into the box with the baby. (Have I mentioned how hard I was crying by then?!). My mom collects elephants and she added an elephant bead. I had a bunch of stuff to put in the box—a picture of the kids (the big brothers!), a “women healing the earth” postcard, one of my womb labyrinth postcards (the “I am opening up in sweet surrender” one), a scrabble tile pendant with a catch your own baby (that is what I had imagined for his birth), a goddess of Willendorf bead because I find images of the divine feminine very meaningful, a 2009 penny, a shell and rock from Pismo Beach, and last I put in a baby hat that I had crocheted, but that he would never get to wear (the postcards and the hat aren’t in the filled box picture because they covered all of the other items up).

The first picture is the items ready to put in and the second is of the box shortly before we buried it.

I did several readings while we were putting the items into the box and a naming reading. I was crying so hard I could hardly speak. Then we all put a handful of dirt each into the hole (the kids too) and said, “bye bye, baby.” Then Mark finished filling it the rest of the way up. We kept a rock from the hole for our labyrinth and gave one to my parents for theirs.

Later, I completed Noah’s Necklace using the beads that so many of my friends sent me after he was born. I also ordered a memorial plaque that we placed on the tree under which he is buried.

6 responses to “Noah’s Box/Ceremony

  1. This was one of the most meaningful and painful experiences of my life.

  2. Thank you so much, Molly, for sharing this. It is so important. I love the way you have honoured your son’s life, and the sacredness of his birth. Your post came into my mailbox this morning as I deal with the fact that today is my ‘due date’…for my baby I will never meet. I so appreciate that you have chosen to share your journey, as it reminds me how very important it is to honour and acknowledge this experience. I am lighting a candle tonight for my baby, and for all the babies who have died before they got to meet their families. Thank you so much to you and Noah – you are helping families on the other side of the world heal.

    • Thank you for commenting, Melissa! This blog doesn’t get very many hits and it nice to know that someone is reading my thoughts and sharing my feelings.

      Thinking of you and your little one on your due date–I’m not looking forward to that “milestone” 😦

  3. Pingback: Pregnancy Loss Blog Carnival + Noah’s Trees « Footprints on My Heart

  4. thank you for sharing your story… as a doula travelling alonsgide mothers to be, i will keep this with me.

Leave a Reply

